Homophobia

Touchy subject, isn’t it?

I love touchy subjects. I especially love it when I bring up subjects that strike a nerve in those that I don’t like. I am all for fair play, if you want to hurt me, it’s only fair that I can do the same to you. I love it when they visibly bristle at an innocuous topic – like looks, because even they know that it’s horribly petty to be so eaten up by jealousy and yet they can’t help being petty.

But I digress.

Homophobia is almost a dirty word. How would you define it? Dictionary.com says it’s an unreasoning fear of or antipathy toward homosexuals and homosexuality. I prefer the wiki definition though: Homophobia encompasses a range of negative attitudes and feelings toward homosexuality or people who are identified or perceived as being lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender (LGBT). It can be expressed as antipathy, contempt, prejudice, aversion, or hatred, and may be based on irrational fear.

In my humble opinion, the degree can vary but as long as there is something negative, be it the attitude, opinion or action, it can and should be classified as homophobia. A while ago, someone I knew insisted that she could not find any gay guy hot. That’s fine, except that she also said that she would stop finding a hot guy hot if he turned out to be gay.

Really?!

I’d say that hotness and sexuality have nothing to do with each other. I’m not that insecure in my sexuality that I can’t find a girl hot and I don’t think it’s right that someone is judged based on their sexuality. While many people are too scared of consequences to be overtly homophobic, because while they mortally offended, they value their own skin a little more than their beliefs, there are still too many people who are quietly homophobic. Case in point, the person I mentioned above.

Little things hurt. Words hurt. When I sit there with nowhere else to run, trying to ignore the poison spewing from her mouth, I can’t help but feel bad for the person she was bullying with her words.

“I can’t find him hot if he’s gay,” she said.

“He probably took it up the ass to get this job,” she said

They hurt and they hurt a lot. It isn’t fair to have to get used to slurs either so don’t tell me that people ought to ignore such bullying.

Leave a Reply

