Pretentiously unpretentious

I was in the midst of reading a certain book titled ‘The Inquisition’. Pretentious, in a way, isn’t it? I’ve never been much for history, with the rare exceptions of course, so this book wasn’t really what I can call my normal reading material.

Two chapters into the book and I realized again just why such books aren’t my kind of books… I was nitpicking and analyzing between just about every line. It pretty much translated to a massive headache. Almost everything struck me as wrong. There was propaganda, silly omissions of facts and ridiculously blatant lying.

Seriously, give me a trashy novel any day, at least I know they are supposed to be trashy. Yes, I don’t really have much taste but I’m not denying it. =)

Leave a Reply

